July 2017 Play! Box | Review

It’s definitely safe to say that I took a break from telling you guys what I’ve been getting in my Play! boxes, but like…they’ve been really shitty. I haven’t been doing it on purpose, they’ve just been really boring and I haven’t been impressed by any of the products. I’m sure absolutely none of you were phased by the disappearance of those posts, but I felt like you guys deserved an explanation and there it is. Barry is probably off somewhere bragging to people that, I actually believe people read this shit.

And since I do believe that people read this shit, I’m gonna tell you about this month’s Play! box, because I’m trying to be much more optimistic.

IMG_1055

bareMinerals GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipstick in Swag: $18

Everyone says to save the best for last, but we’re doing things my way today. The history I have with bareMinerals is an interesting one. Of course I’m gonna tell you the story, Stacy, so grab a wine cooler, take a seat and have a laugh.

When I was about 13 or 14, my mom and I ventured into their store, because not only do we have a Sephora that carries their products but an actual bareMinerals store (that for some reason is always empty). We wandered in there one day, when I decided I wanted to start delving into makeup. I’m not sure if they still have it, but one of the associates had us sold on this powdered eyeliner. 14-year-old me was like, “Hell yeah, I’m finally gonna start growing into my own woman!” Then we got home and the next day before I went to school I went to put the eyeliner on, and even though the woman had showed me the day before how to put it on, I got nervous and forgot. Best believe every time my mom and I pass the store, she’s like, “Hey, remember when-” “Ya mom, ok I remember.”

It’s not that interesting, but I’m a storyteller and I think everyone deserves to know about the shitty things I did when I was younger. Of course, ever since that fateful day I have strayed away from all bareMinerals products, but for the sake of this post and my lipstick addiction I had to give this a try.

I don’t think I’ve ever fallen in love with a lipstick so fast before. The formula of this lipstick is 10/10. Lately, my go to for lipstick have been cream formulas and that’s what I thought this was at first, because it applies so neatly and doesn’t dry my lips out. It’s not so matte to the point where it’s indestructible because I ate a lot of food and drank while wearing this. I’m not someone who minds reapplying lipstick, but if you are then I don’t recommend this in the slightest. Although, if you’re looking for a nice, everyday lipstick then I suggest trying this out, because it’s the perfect pinky nude.

IMG_1056.JPG

MILK MAKEUP Cooling water: $24

Milk Makeup cracks me up, because whenever I used to go into Urban Outfitters and shop, I’d see all these cool kids trying it out and would feel like I was too ordinary to try it. I mean, look at the packaging, it’s like Zenon fucking came up with it. I always call their packaging, “Plain Chic” because it’s literally plain as fuck but I need a shiny, holographic backpack to even be worthy of picking their product up.

Even though, I’m a plain jane I did use this. I’m the bag queen, like when people are like, “The bags under my eyes are designer,” I laugh because the bags under my eyes are so bad that even grocery stores would turn them away. When I read on how to use this though, you best believe the first place it went were my garbage bags. Since it’s a stick, I didn’t really feel the need to rub it in, I was just kind of like *boop* *boop* good to go. Lemme tell you though, this shit works. The garbage bags did a complete 180 and looked somewhat decent enough to fall in line with a Kate Spade bag.

IMG_1049.JPG

IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara: $24

Best believe when I saw this in my bag, my eyes got real big. I had only learned just recently that Sephora had started selling IT products, but I didn’t actually expect to get one in my subscription this month. I love IT products and even though I haven’t bought many, I love receiving samples of them every now and then. There has not been one product that I’ve had to turn a cheek to. This mascara, boiiiii!

One coat, ladies and gentlemen and my eyes were popping. You know how much I love my Dior mascara and how I promised I would never ever convert, but mama might just have to. The fact that I only used one coat and it was like my lashes were waving to the gods is enough for me to say screw Dior (jk baby ily) and sing “Hallelujah”. The brush is big and beautiful, just as it should be. The bristles are strong bristles that don’t clump the product and separate your lashes.

IMG_1058.JPG

Atelier Cologne in Orange Sanguine: $25

Don’t let that price fool you, that’s the price of the travel size. I’ve received Atelier Cologne samples before and I hate how nice they all smell, because the price makes me want to upchuck on a woodchuck. Thank you, Sephora for letting me broaden my horizon in scents, but don’t send one I absolutely love and expect me to pay $195 for a full bottle.

The Orange Sanguine is by far my favorite scent that Sephora has sent me. I’ve never been a big citrus fan, but it’s so subtle and light in this perfume that it brings to light everything else that’s been intertwined with it. I wore it yesterday to a bridal shower and was told repeatedly how nice I smelled. I never get compliments like that and now that I’m older, I feel as though I need a signature scent. My mom’s is Tresór, my grandma’s is Chanel No. 5, so what’s mine? The hunt to find my own has begun and right now, it’s this bad boy. Next time you walk into Sephora, just take a whiff and thank me later.

IMG_1062.JPG

boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding: $38

Boscia’s coming in for the win again! I am the biggest boscia fanatic, so did I expect them to let me down? Absolutely not. You’re all very aware how much I love face masks as well. Sephora had already sent me an email letting me get a sneak peek into my Play! box for July, so I knew I would be getting a face mask and I was super excited to receive this one!

The first thing I thought when I opened this was how much fun it was going to be to play with it, because it’s black and white. Putting on a facemask is a form of finger painting, don’t @ me.

As much fun as it is to play with, we need to talk about how much this product has done just within 24 hours. When I woke up this morning, I noticed that the breakout I had on my chin had been minimized extremely and that my face didn’t feel as crusty as it had before I put the mask on. It claims to be a solution for dryness and oiliness, so since I have combination skin, I woke up this morning feeling like my skin was normal. When I looked in the mirror and noticed that all of my acne was practically gone, I said a silent prayer and put this on my shelf for when I use it again this week. Whenever my friends ask me about my skin care routine, I always stress to them how important it is to use a mask every once in a while and I feel this one has so many things to offer no matter what skin type you have.

I also received a hair product, but you guys know me and know that the only product that goes in my hair is dry shampoo. What did you guys think though? Should I start doing these more often now? Or are they something you want to see when there are only products worth talking about? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “July 2017 Play! Box | Review

Leave a Reply

