June Favorites 2017

Is it just me or did June take forever to end? I didn’t realize until a day or two ago that it was still June. It’s not like I’m anticipating July or anything, it just took forever to get over with. During this month though, I tested many things and fell in lust with a few. LMAO JOKES. But seriously, I found some things I may or may not end up marrying. MORE JOKES!! Okay so let’s get started.

mac_fix.jpg

MAC Fix+ // $24.99

PSA: Please don’t judge me as to why I just didn’t take a picture of my own, I’m obviously writing this post after the sun has gone down.

I know what you’re thinking, “You’ve already praised this, bitch, try new things.” Well, Sharon, I’m trying my bEST. I decided that this month I was going to start wearing real makeup again and just found myself picking this up. The best thing about Fix+ is that even though it’s for your makeup, you don’t have to just use it when you’re wearing makeup. On days that I was feeling really dry in my T-Zone or just needed a little shabam! I was putting this on my face. If any of you read my review on the It Cosmetics CC Cream (which you should, I hear it’s great!), and were wondering how I primed my face before I put the CC cream on, you’re looking at it. Just a spritz, I let it dry and mama was good to go. This is definitely an oldie, but a goodie in my book.

IMG_1028.JPG

First Aid Beauty Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Priming Moisturizer // $28

I just want to start this off by saying that’s a really long name for a product and they could’ve definitely simplified it. That doesn’t take away from the fact that this is a fantastic product. It’s a primer, but I haven’t been using it as a makeup primer and moreso a moisturizer. After using this product once, I just knew it was going to be something where I would eventually purchase the full sized product. If you couldn’t tell, this is a sample and I received this in my June Sephora Play! Box. I’ve heard loads of wonderful things about First Aid Beauty and when I saw this in my bag I got uber excited. I love when brands come out with things that are going to help your skin, but also make you look super good. I use this as a daytime moisturizer, because it makes your skin look super soft and gives it a soft luminosity.

IMG_0679

Smashbox Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer // $36

Could this be another band wagon I’m hopping on? Fuck, might as well be. This came in my May Play! box and I’m just a happy camper with it. If you’re not subscribed to the Play! box, I definitely suggest you do because it’s going to give you the chance to try out different brands you never got the chance to try and it’s only $10/month. I should totally be sponsored, but like since when does Sephora need a sponsor, ya know?

I have been recommended to try Smashbox by Sephora employees many times, but you know what turned me off? The size of their products. Have you ever seen their liquid lipsticks? $24 for a .13 oz tube. I fucking gagged when they recommended that to me. For that price I can get a Too Faced Liquid Lipstick for three dollars less and it’s .4 oz. After that it was just a brand I never looked at. Now my point of view has changed, thanks to this primer. First off, I understand the size of their products now, because one little squeeze takes mama a loooong way. One little squeeze keeps mama looking good all day and night. 10/10 would recommend and I am definitely eating my words when it comes to Smashbox. Trust me, I totally understand the price can make a person want to upchuck, but always try the sample before you dive in, that way you don’t cry and neither does your wallet.

IMG_1030.JPG

Real Techniques Flawless Base Makeup Collection // $14.39

I know what you’re thinking, “Two brushes that are technically drug store brand for $15! No way, Jose.” It’s okay, Janet, you get four* brushes.

Now this is a band wagon I am not late to. I have loved Real Techniques brushes since my senior year of high school, I was just blinded by the beautiful blending my beauty blender bestowed upon me. I went back to these though for quite a while, because as much as I love my beauty blender, I love my brushes too. I always follow what makeup gurus do on YouTube when I get a new foundation or liquid/creme product, I test them out with both a brush and a beauty blender. That’s honestly the only way you’re gonna find out how it performs. I love these two brushes specifically though, because they give my face a special kind of pizzazz. I love the buffing brush for foundation and I’m always trying to achieve that Jaclyn Hill flawlessness when she uses her favorite Morphe brush (which is definitely on my wishlist). On certain days, I love the contour brush for when I don’t feel like baking and use it to set my under eyes with my banana powder from the NYX palette (ok, that was such a YouTuber sentence, I feel like Tati). If you guys are always on the prowl for decent makeup brushes, but don’t have loads of money I suggest Real Techniques all the way. I know some brushes don’t matter to people, but it’s not always about the foundation, but the tools you use to pack it on with.

IMG_1031.JPG

Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution // $49.50

Another sample! Can you tell I’ve got a thing for them now? Kiehl’s is a brand I’ve always been intrigued by, because Sephora nor Ulta sell the line. This brand is very hard for me to get my hands on and I have to drive an hour and a half to do so. Sure I can order online, but mama likes her samples now, alright? I walked into Kiehl’s and you can tell the woman was doing her job and thank god she was, but from a sales associate to another sales associate, if someone tells you they’re browsing then let them browse. I appreciate this woman’s help, because if it wasn’t for her I wouldn’t be telling you about this amazing product but sometimes you just have to back off.

Anyways, over the last few months I’ve been feeling very insecure about my acne scars. I’m a picker, I not only pick my own face but offer to pick others. I love popping zits, I’m subscribed to Dr. Pimple Popper on YouTube, it’s a thing. Picking my own zits though has resulted in quite a few acne scars, so since this sales associate was being so attentive I asked if she suggested anything for acne scars. I wasn’t sure if she suggested this because of the price (because my own eyes widened at the price tag) or if it’s because it works. It’s definitely because it works. I was honest with the woman and told her I wouldn’t be buying anything today, so she offered me a sample. She suggested I used it twice a day and I have been. On the second day of using this, I noticed a drastic change. My skin looked brighter and I noticed some of my dark spots diminishing slowly. I bragged about this to my mom and she asked me how much it was, because she’s even spoke up about my dark spots and when I told her the price, she laughed nervously. I’m not sure if she’ll buy it for me, but I’m gonna keep working at it.

So what did you guys love during the month of June? Anything you suggest I try during the month of July since I’ve learned to start trying samples?

One thought on “June Favorites 2017

Leave a Reply

