An Experience: Bleachers

So this past Sunday, I trekked up to Detroit to see a band you either know or you don’t know: Bleachers. Bleachers as a band is interesting, because I didn’t know of them until my coworker Sarah told me about them and since I didn’t know who they were I thought I was just out of the loop. Turns out, I’m not and Bleachers is a band who apparently don’t want to be super big.

This day was full of firsts for me. I was seeing a band I had only really started listening to within the last few months for the first time and I was also camping out. Camping out is hilarious to me, because being such a huge One Direction fan I have seen multiple people camp out for them when they’ve been on TV shows or just for their shows in general, but I’ve never done it myself. When we first got up to St. Andrews there weren’t a lot of people there, I think we were like the 9th or 10th people there. We marked our spot and suddenly we were waiting. Since this was something I’ve never done before I thought it was going to be super boring, but it went by super quick.

What I thought was the coolest part of this whole shebang (besides the show) was that Jack Antonoff had a little house put together and inside was a remodel of his room where he wrote the whole entire Gone Now album. You could see that this part of the album was important for Jack to show. The amount of detail that was put into this is impeccable; from the vinyls that are hung on his wall down to what his view outside of the window is. We all have our childhood bedrooms or at least some aspect of a room where we had the best and worst of times, but how often do we go back to that and put together something that helps express ourselves? We grow up and go off on our own, but leave that bedroom behind with all of our nostalgic memories and we only go back and visit it every once in a blue moon.

IMG_0968.JPG

IMG_0971.JPG

IMG_0975.JPG

IMG_0978.jpg

IMG_0982.JPG

IMG_0983.JPG I also forgot to mention that I ate Shake Shack for the first time and 10/10 would recommend.

I’ve never been to St. Andrews so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. When we were finally let in, it was a lot bigger than I expected. If you look up pictures of St. Andrews Hall on Google it literally looks like a high school gym. It’s probably a lot smaller than my old high school’s gym. It was fine though, we made it and I was just happy we were as close as we could be.

Now let’s talk the opening act. This was probably the most interesting opening act I’ve ever seen before, because I’ve never heard of them and their lead singer was eccentric. Don’t get me wrong, their music is fucking fantastic and I would definitely listen to and recommend to every single one of my friends and readers. The band was Foreign Air and damn it felt foreign. Have you guys ever seen Lorde perform before? You know, she’s got the hand movements down and whatnot? Their lead singer was a lot like this except it was like Lorde and Marilyn Manson had a baby. I’m trying so hard not to shit on them, but you guys, it was so weird. They were really complimentary of Detroit, but at one point it just felt like an exorcism. I’d pay money to see Foreign Air again, just because they’re music is really fucking good, the vibes they give off are really weird though but I can look past that.

IMG_0987.JPG

IMG_0989.JPG

THEN IT WAS TIME FOR BLEACHERS.

IMG_0993.JPG

IMG_1001.JPG

IMG_1015.JPG

IMG_0996.JPG

IMG_1019.JPG

IMG_1022.JPG

The best part of a show for me is when the main artist comes on and the crowd goes wild. I love looking around and seeing the whole entire room light up. Since this was more of an intimate show, I got to see this same light on the band’s face and that was just incredible to me. I’ve been to many concerts and I’ve never seen an artist or band get as excited as Bleachers did. At one point during the show, Jack Antonoff spoke up and said that when you look at the venues they’re going to if you see St. Andrews Hall you know it’s going to be good. I love that. I love when a place is so memorable for someone, it means they’re just as excited to see you as you are to see them.

It wasn’t until after the show was over that I realized how good of a time I had actually had. Bleachers was not fucking around and they were just going into each song without a lick of patience. When they did take small breaks, it was noticeable as to why they weren’t trying to be a big superstar band. They do this for fun. A lot of bands start off as something for fun, but eventually they get a bit of fame and suddenly they’re skyrocketing into award shows and magazines. Bleachers is here for the music and the fans. They come out after every concert and meet their fans, Jack hops up on the barricade so he can hold his fans hand and be as close to them as possible. This is about them and us.

Bleachers as performers though are absolutely incredible. They don’t miss a beat and they are a band or at least a type of band that everyone should at least experience once. I can’t tell you how much I yearned to go back and do this all again the next day, because it was that much of a great experience. I love the whole entire atmosphere this show gives off. There is not one complaint I have about Bleachers as a band and performers, because this show was fucking fun!

Leave a Reply

