Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm |Review

Can I just say that it’s about time I had this in my possession? I have seen almost every beauty guru raving about this and thought it was my turn to try it out. I started eyeing this up a few months back, but the $29 price tag is what turned me off from it. I was thinking to myself, “That’s a shit ton of money for a fancy balm.” Then the VIB sale rolled around and I got $5 off so here we are.

Sephora: “This makeup remover effortlessly dissolves even the most tenacious makeup and sunscreen. Its non-greasy, non-drying, lightweight formula nourishes skin, cleanses thoroughly, and rinses off completely, so all that’s left is a fresh, dewy glow.”

I opened this up last night and was so confused as to how to use it. I was 100% positive that I needed to wet my face first, but thank god I didn’t because you’re not supposed to. At first I wasn’t sure it was actually doing anything, but then I realized it was turning into this milky formula and even though it didn’t look like it was melting my makeup off it was breaking it down. I’m sure you all know what a Barbie doll looks like when it’s melted, right? Well when people started using the term “melt” to describe this, that’s what I honest to God expected to look like when I was done using this. Uh, sadly that was not the case, but it’s fine I’ll live.

As a kid I always watched my mom wash her makeup off with soap and when I started wearing makeup I tried this technique and burned my goddamn eyes out. I don’t know how this woman has done this since the 80’s, but every time I watch her I literally cringe. It’s gotten to the point where I’ve bitched at her so much for doing this that she’s started buying makeup wipes to please me. Shoutout to you, Marita. After watching videos of people using this balm, I noticed that they were using this to take their eye makeup off and after seeing the mess my mom used to be with soap I was actually quite intrigued by this. I’ve yet to find a good eye makeup remover (hence all the mascara stains on my pillow). So last night, I took the plunge and cleaned my eye makeup off with this. I had a small moment where I was questioning if I really wanted to take the plunge, but I figured if I don’t then I can’t let you guys know whether or not it burns your eyeballs.

Take a big sigh of relief, everybody, because this shit lets your eyeballs LIVE.

So let’s be real here, this isn’t a facewash it’s just a fancier version of a makeup remover, but waking up this morning I took a good look at my skin. Oh my god, guys, yesterday I had blemishes up the yin yang and today it’s a completely different story. I’m not exactly sure if this is what helped the pimples die down, but I’m going to give it a bit of credit. Once I was done getting all of my makeup off, I rinsed my face off and then proceeded to wash it with my Clean & Clear face wash. Now usually when I’m using a makeup wipe, I can still see foundation on my fingers when I’m rinsing my face off, but last night there wasn’t a trace. When I dried my face off I looked at myself in the mirror and my skin looked vibrant.

I know I said that I was turned off by the $29 price tag, but now that I’ve tried it and know what it’s worth I can sit here and tell you that it’s worth the money. I’ve always been one to believe that skin care is more expensive than makeup, but for the quality of this item I’m shocked that Clinique isn’t charging more. Props to Clinique though for finding a fun way to clean your makeup off.

You guys can get this at Sephora for $29 and I highly recommend it!

6 thoughts on “Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm |Review

  1. InYourFace says:

    Hey! Ive used this and its brilliant but honestly for the price I don’t think I’d buy it again. Have you tried ULTRABLAND by LUSH? That’s a cleanser as well and soo soo soo good and the best part is the price!!! Do try it and tell me how you like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • erickacarmen says:

      I haven’t tried any skincare by Lush since the closest one to me is 45 minutes away! Next time I go I’ll be sure to pick it up and let you know what I think! I just picked this up because it’s way easier for me to access this and I’ve been dying to try it anyways!

      Like

      • InYourFace says:

        Oh no!! You definitely have to go to LUSH or order it online. They make amazing fresh masks and their charcoal soap is to dieeeee for!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • erickacarmen says:

        I’ve tried a face mask and loved it at first, but then there was a time where I never turned to it so I stopped buying it! I’m really picky about scents though and that’s a huge part of Lush’s products hence why I’m so picky about trying their skincare.

        Like

Leave a Reply

