Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation | Review

As you guys already know, I’m always on the hunt for my perfect foundation and here we are again my friends. I decided to venture to the mall, which in itself was a hassle, because apparently no one knows what they’re doing but we got there. The research I’ve done to find my most perfect foundation is an interesting one. I’ve watched a large amount of YouTube videos, read countless reviews and ultimately decided to try the oldie but goodie, Estée Lauder Double Wear.

We’re gonna start this review off with story time, everybody.

Knowing that my mom needed to pay on her Macy’s card, we ventured there first and as soon as I walked up to the counter I was cold-shouldered. This woman finally came over and started helping me, but when she approached the woman who had given me the cold-shoulder and asked for the match making machine, she responded with, “It’s broken.” Okay, well if it’s broken, why didn’t you just tell me that instead of being rude? After that, my mom and I made our way to Sephora and while I was eyeing up the different foundations and decided that I more than likely wouldn’t be getting the Double Wear a worker came over. The worker at Sephora was very helpful, but she started selling me the Hourglass stick foundation. I am not a stick foundation fan, it cakes up on me and I always end up using way too much product. Once she realized I wasn’t interested, she got mad and decided that instead of trying to sell me another foundation threw me a few recommendations and walked off. Well, then my mom suggested we go back to Macy’s and try Lancôme. We stood there for five minutes and all the workers were looking at us instead of helping us. I used to work for Macy’s so I wasn’t shocked that I stood there for ten minutes and they all decided that ringing out other employess (that’s right, employees, not customers) was more important than making a sale. I rolled my eyes and last, but not least, we made our way to Dilliard’s. Of course, Dilliard’s came through and I decided that when it comes to makeup from now on I’ll be giving Dilliard’s my business.

Sephora: “Estēe Lauder’s Double Wear Makeup delivers flawless, 24-hour staying power, and it is natural-looking for carefree coverage. A lightweight, oil-free, and buildable formula, it doesn’t change color, leaving your makeup looking as fresh as when you first applied it.”

For months this foundation has been recommended by many people, I just always thought it would be this thick, slimy formula that sat on my face. Well, I’ll be the first to admit that I was wrong. This foundation is matte, without feeling thick; it’s full coverage without looking cakey. Overall I think my favorite thing is that you don’t use too much and still get a great amount of coverage. I’m over the moon with this foundation.

I do have a slight con though. I’m sure most of you have seen the revelation that Lancôme has created over their machine that creates your perfect foundation. Well here’s the deal: The little machine that matches your color, Estée Lauder has the same one that matches you perfectly to a shade they have already created. They have 38 shades, so if it matches me perfectly to one you’d expect it to be perfect, right? As much as I love this foundation, I’ve realized that if I put way too much on it oxidizes and looks orange on me.

I’m sure you’re all wondering, “Well what about Maybelline Fit Me?” Fit me is still one of my Holy Grail foundations and definitely my favorite drug store, the only issue I have with it is that once you have 1/4 of the bottle left it starts getting cakey and more watery. It sticks to the acne rings on my face and cakes up around my mouth.

Overall, I would recommend this to everyone and if you’re out there still on the hunt for a decent foundation go and try a sample! Take it home, wear it for a couple of days and make your decision. It’s true when they say this is an oldie, but a goodie.

You can buy it here for $39.50

24 thoughts on “Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation | Review

  1. bloggerfromthebronx says:

    Omg that is so me when it comes to makeup in general! I hate going to Macy’s for those exact reasons and sephora always tries to sell me the most expensive products as opposed to what’s best for my skin. However, I’ve also heard great things about Estée Lauder and I’m really thinking of trying it out. I usually use the Sephora brand Foundation but it can be a little heavy.

    Like

  2. InYourFace says:

    Been reading so many rave reviews about the ESTEE LAUDER foundation. Being a student splurging on such expensive products really doesn’t go well with my bank account haha! I intend on getting a sample first to see how that works for me. If it does good then i’ll definitely look into buying a big bottle! Otherwise my Maybelline fit me is my forever faithful friend haha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

