February Favorites | Beauty & Skincare

Hi everyone! Okay so are we really shocked that February went by really fast? I know I shouldn’t be, because it’s the shortest month of the year. I’m so excited March is here though, because I am moving out!!! That’s right! I literally just signed the lease on the apartment today! I’m definitely going to be doing an apartment tour after I’ve finished all of the moving furniture in, decorating, etc. so be on the lookout for that!

Jumping into this months favorites, I want to point out that I made this month completely about drugstore products. Since it’s after the holidays that’s really all I could afford and what I’ve realized the most this month about drugstore products is how much better a lot of them are than higher end products. You’ll understand why I say that once we get into the favorites part of this post.

Before we get started I also want to say that this month’s favorites is going to be split into two and the fashion will come later. Why? Well, because I’m going to be modeling some of my favorite outfits for you guys! I’ve noticed in the past posts that you guys don’t really get what makes these items so great when they’re laying on a blanket, so why not model them for you?

img_0617

Maybelline Eye Studio Brow Palette: $12.99

Oh my god, I can’t rave enough about this product. I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that my eyebrows have been on point all this month. As I told you guys when I hauled this, I used to use this when I first started filling in my brows, but then went on to use a higher end brow product. What I didn’t do before that I do now is I use the pomade in this palette. Along with my brow mascara, the pomade really helps to keep my brows at bay during the day. If any of you are using pencils and find that the formula doesn’t work well with your brow hairs, I suggest trying powder and maybe trying this palette out first before you walk into Sephora and blow money on the ABH Dipbrow.

img_0626

Wet n Wild Coverall Face Primer: $5.29

*takes deep breath* THIS IS THE BEST PRIMER I HAVE EVER USED IN MY ENTIRE FUCKING LIFE!!!!! I’m fine. Anyways, who is going to start saving lots of money by using this primer? Uh, me. Sorry MAC Prep + Prime, Ericka has a new lover now. Wet n Wild have been slaying my entire face this month, because of this primer. Since I have combination skin and I had that whole thing with texture between my eyebrows I had to start using a more hydrating primer. There’s nothing wrong with MAC Prep + Prime, but the price is outrageous and it just doesn’t work as well as this.

Let’s start off with why this is so great. It minimizes pores, which I tried to do with the Benefit Porefessional and that was what made the texture so noticeable when I put my foundation on. This primer is made with white sapphire and that’s to help brighten your skin and even your skin tone. When you read the description of this primer it helps prevent three important things: caking, creasing and smudging. Trust me y’all, they’re not lying when they say that’s what it does.

img_0602

Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Times Square: $6.00

My new ride or die. This whole entire month I have received nothing but compliments when I’ve worn this lipstick. It’s cute, because my mom’s bugged me to order her a couple of these, she loves it that much. As you guys know, I love wearing my Beeper lip liner with this. The reason I love this so much is due to the fact that it’s so lightweight and long-lasting. I’m very picky when it comes to buying liquid lipsticks from Colourpop, because you never know what you’re going to get. Colourpop, to me, is notorious for having a different formula for each lipstick. I think what I love most about this is the fact that it’s called Times Square, it’s almost as if this lipstick was made for me.

img_0568

Beau Gâchis Concealer Brush: $16

I don’t know why I thought for the longest time that a flat angled brush was better than a rounded brush when it came to tracing your eyebrows, but BOI WAS I WRONG. I received this little brush in one of my ipsy bags and immediately fell in love with it. Now, I only use this for my eyebrows. I’m sure you’re wondering, “Why not for all your concealer needs?” Well, I have a phobia of using brushes for my liquid makeup. Don’t ask why, because even I don’t know.

img_4789

Clean & Clear Night Relaxing Deep Cleansing Wash: $5.49

I don’t know what came over me this month, but I’ve been obsessed with skincare. In the morning I find myself looking forward to washing my face and then washing it the second I get home from work after I take my makeup off. With this duo, my face has been singing ‘Hallelujah’ for the longest time. I actually woke up this morning and while I was looking in the mirror, I noticed that my face is practically clear except for the few little acne scars. I’m such a big advocate for Clean & Clear, because due to me having sensitive skin this is the only facewash that doesn’t irritate me.

Now, I’m sure you’re all wondering about the brush. I begged for the longest time for a Clinique face brush and when I went to Marshall’s I found this cute little knockoff and it works just as well. Also a pro tip: If you’re looking for some high end facewash, but don’t want to pay high end price take a trip to you’re local Marshall’s or TJ Maxx and thank me later :).

IMG_0632.jpg

PSA: I tried my hardest to find this mask online, but I couldn’t so I’m sorry!

A while back, I took a trip to TJ Maxx and found a galore of face masks. I picked out I think three packs of face masks and out of all three this one had to be my favorite. Having combination skin, I have a little bit of everything. I love to use this the most either when I’m taking a bath right before I have to get ready to go somewhere or at night after I take my makeup off, because those are the two times of the day where I feel really very dry. My skin soaks this mask up like nobody’s business. I have never used a mask where my skin reacts so well to it.

IMG_0630.jpg

NYM Double Take Dry Finish Texture Spray: $5.57

Oh my God, I can’t remember the last time I had a hair product in one of my favorites! I must rave about this though. NYM is my favorite brand of dry shampoo, so a couple years ago (Yes, this is a couple years old) when I was searching for a texturizing spray this was recommended to me. I would spray this in my hair and it wouldn’t do anything. It didn’t dawn on me that no product was coming out until I sprayed it on my hand and only felt air. So, once I finally started using this the right way, I realized that it actually is fucking amazing. Having straight hair that doesn’t like to hold any curls or waves, this bad boy has come in handy.  What I love most about this though is that this doesn’t leave my hair ridiculously scrunchy.

That’s it for this month’s beauty favorites! I’m so excited for March and what’s to come this month! I should probably let out of the bag that this month, I’m revolving around skincare! I’ve found that skincare tends to be a lot more expensive than makeup so I’m excited to see what is the best when it comes to drugstore and high end! I’ll see you guys soon with my fashion and lifestyle favorites!

Leave a Reply

