SiliSponge | Review

Hello everybody, I’m back again with another review. I feel like this week is the week of reviews (and I’m living for it). Oh my god, after almost two months I have finally received this in the mail. For those of you who didn’t see the rave about this piece of plastic, this is the SiliSponge. This small molded piece of silicone is supposed to be better than the beauty blender, but is it?

“Wasting products is history now cos, of course, it doesn’t soak in a thing! The foundation needed is literally just half the amount compared to directly using brush or sponge. Spreading product with it will take some getting used to, final blending can always be finished with oval brush or usual sponge (for example beautyblender), that means washing the oval brush or the sponge will be minimized and they will last a whole lot longer. It is ideal for people who don’t like messy fingers during makeup. AND I bet you can imagine cleaning THIS APPLICATOR will literally take no more effort than rubbing it with a little soap and rinsing with some luke warm water. If you are a professional makeup artist, can you imagine how exciting it is that you can use it on one client/model, clean it with a makeup remover and sanitizing spray, and then you can use it on another client/model immediately just like that? Throwing away disposable sponge can totally be minimized!!!!”

I used this wrong the first two times I tried this. It wasn’t until I actually read the description on how to use this that I was like, “Hmm..Maybe we should rethink our opinion for the review.” So I did.

c33v4i6vmamubyf

So here’s the first day I used the SiliSponge (I’m sure most of you recognize this beautiful picture of me *finger guns*) and I tried to use it as an actual beauty blender.

IMG_5751.jpg

This the second day I tried to use it as a beauty blender.

IMG_5794.jpg

This is from yesterday which was when I finally used it the correct way and I know you can’t tell, but my makeup looked BOMB. Plus this is just a really cute picture of me getting doggy kisses.

Once I realized the purpose of the SiliSponge was to just spread your foundation out without soaking up the product, my makeup blended beautifully. The idea of the sponge is so you use less of your foundation and your beauty blender/brushes last longer. While I was trying to use this as a beauty blender, my foundation definitely had some cakeyness to it. Now, when I used it the right way and went over it with my beauty blender it came out looking flawless.

All in all, I really don’t see the point of this. I understand that it’s so your products last longer, but you still have to use a beauty blender or brush so either way it does still soak up product. In my head, it does everything it is supposed to do, but it’s still an extra step. Is it a good extra step? Yes, absolutely because you do get top notch makeup. Is it worth being an extra step? Eh, not so much.

Once I started using this properly I can honestly tell you that the SiliSponge does everything it promises.

Let’s talk pricing and shipping. The SiliSponge retails for $12.99, but for some reason it’s always on sale for $9.99 and if you want to save even more money you can find a 10% off coupon. Oh my god you guys, the shipping is the most bullshit thing ever! You have three different options for shipping.

  • Regular Airmail:Shipped WITHOUT tracking number, 10-21 working days
    Charge: FREE
  • Airmail with partial tracking airmail:Partial tracking information will be available, typically takes 10-21 working days.
    Charge: $5
  • Express Airmail:Full tracking information will be available, typically takes 3-5 working days
    Charge: Varies according to countries, choose this option to reveal cost at checkout.

I chose the partial tracking airmail and only got the notification when it was shipped out so the whole month I was playing a guessing game. Remind you I pre-ordered this for the 9th restock and that was on December 13th and this didn’t ship out until January 14th. I didn’t receive this until February 4th and I stopped receiving tracking information for this on January 19th. I just think that the whole shipping thing is bullshit, because you’re constantly waiting for it and I love the anticipation of getting a product but…

pensionIS3_203x150.jpg

…I’m not doing this for a whole month and a half.

I really do like this sponge and the price is A1, but I just don’t think it’s worth the hassle that you go through to get it.

Would you guys try this? For those of you who have, do you like it? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “SiliSponge | Review

Leave a Reply

